Posted by: Ali | September 10, 2009

Cusco

I am here in Cusco!  It is a lovely beautiful little town, and by little town I mean population 400,000.  I am at one of our homestays, a family whose matron’s name is Marita, so it is known as Marita’s house.  Marita turns out to be a lovely woman who reminds me of my Bolivian mom, Fanny.

My bedroom (already a bit messy)

My bedroom (already a bit messy)

Marita has volunteers staying here all the time.  She confided at lunch that Canadians were her favourite because they were the most respectful, not like Americans or the French or the English.  But apparently they have space here for about ten volunteers at a time.

Several spare rooms used for volunteers

Several spare rooms used for volunteers

Marita is very experienced with being a homestay mom, I think she likes being a mom in general.  She has three grown children, one of whom has two young children of her own (about 3 years old and 6 months).  Anyways she took me home and started telling me what to do (“have some tea, go have a nap, I’ll call you when lunch is ready, you have to go to Machu Piccu later, let’s get you a ticket to Bolivia”).  I think I like it here already!

Unfortunately I have to leave soon, but I will return soon.  I’m leaving on a bus for Bolivia tonight and should arrive tomorrow morning.  I promise to take lots of pictures and have lots of adventures but the internet is slow here so I might not be able to post them until I return to Lima.


Categories